Guilford County, N.C. – October 22-23, 2021, the North Carolina Association of County Commissioners (NCACC) Board of Directors held its first Board meeting for the 2021-22 term, during which Board members were sworn in. A complete listing of Board members is included below. 

The Board discussed a range of topics including recent developments on issues affecting counties at the NC General Assembly and how the Association is providing support to counties on navigating use of American Rescue Plan Act funds. NCACC is working closely with state and federal stakeholders to gather pertinent information and develop tools counties can utilize to ensure these funds are used effectively and within U.S. Treasury guidelines.

Thomas Stith, President of the North Carolina Community College System (NCCCS), presented an update to the Board and shared, “There are many pathways for student success offered by the community colleges, including dual enrollment, early college, registered apprenticeships, and customized training programs.” President Stith noted that the NCCCS is undertaking a statewide strategic planning process, which began in September and will culminate with a comprehensive plan to be published summer 2022. 

Stith also spoke about his recent meeting with NCACC President and Brunswick County Commissioner Frank Williams, during which they discussed Williams’ 100 Counties Prepared Initiative. The year-long initiative focuses on equipping county commissioners with the tools they need to lead effectively during emergency situations. Many NCCCS colleges offer emergency preparedness courses, and some courses are offered at reduced cost to local and state responders. 

Stith commented that, “The time to prepare is not in the midst of emergency,” and spoke about the importance of state partnerships for effective emergency preparedness. The NCCCS’s focus on emergency preparedness represents one of many opportunities for collaboration between the NCCCS and NCACC. 

The Board also heard an update on the 100 Counties Prepared initiative, which formally kicked off earlier this month with its first task force meeting. Task force co-chairs, Kay Cashion, Guilford County Commissioner, and Randy Thompson, Chair of the Brunswick County Board of Commissioners spoke to the Board about the productive meeting, and the direction the effort is headed in to design a training oriented around three components: communication, education and relationships. Williams reinforced the vision of the initiative saying, “We need to ensure every one of our commissioners can lead effectively when something heads their way.”

The Board approved new members of the North Carolina Property Tax Solution (NCPTS) Oversight Committee, which oversees the state-of-the-art property tax program, owned, and licensed by the NCACC. The NCPTS Oversight Committee decides collectively on investments for new software enhancements for the program and responds to member counties’ needs as they arise. 

New NCPTS Oversight Committee members include Donnie Shumate, Tax Administrator, Hyde County – Small County member, Alan Lumpkin, Tax Administrator, Wayne County – Medium County member, and Darlene Burgess, Tax Administrator, Henderson County – Chair of Land Records and CAMA Committee. 

Board members also heard a report on the Association’s finances and approved its annual audit report. The next NCACC Board meeting is scheduled for January 28-29 in Wake County.  

For more information on the 100 Counties Prepared Task Force and its work, visit

Editors: Print quality photos may be downloaded for use at:—Octob/ Photo should be credited as follows: Photo courtesy Chris Baucom/NCACC.

The North Carolina Association of County Commissioners(NCACC) is a non-partisan organization, which represents the official voice of all 100 counties on issues considered by the General Assembly, Congress, and federal and state agencies. The Association provides expertise to counties in the areas of advocacy, research, risk management and education and leadership training.

2021-22 NCACC Board of Directors: 

Frank Williams, Brunswick – President

Tracey Johnson, Washington – President Elect

Johnnie Carswell, Burke – 1st Vice President

Tare Davis, Warren – 2nd Vice President

Ronnie Smith, Martin – Past President

Kevin Leonard, NCACC – NCACC Executive Director

Tammy Lee, Bertie – NACo Director-Seat 3

Gloria Whisenhunt, Forsyth – NACo Director-Seat 2

Renee Price, Orange – Co-Chair, Legislative Goals 

Mike LaBrose, Caldwell – Co-Chair, Legislative Goals 

James West, Wake – Steering Committee Chair-Agriculture 

Eddie Settle, Wilkes – Steering Committee Chair-Environment 

Deb Hays, New Hanover – Steering Committee Chair-General Government

Brenda Vaughn, McDowell – Steering Committee Chair-Human Services

George Dunlap, Mecklenburg – Steering Committee Chair-Justice & Public Safety

Karen  Howard, Chatham – Steering Committee Chair-Public Education

Wallace Nelson, Perquimans – Steering Committee Chair-Tax & Finance

Bob Kirby, Chowan – District 1 Director

John Horton, Hertford – District 2 Director

Theron McCabe, Craven – District 3 Director

Mike Forte, Brunswick – District 4 Director

Darrel Gibson, Scotland – District 5 Director

Jerol Kivett, Sampson – District 6 Director

Linda Brewer, Halifax – District 7 Director

Cedric Jones, Franklin – District 8 Director

Kirk Smith, Lee – District 9 Director

Louis Gregory, Moore – District 10 Director

David Allen, Randolph – District 11 Director

Gene Houpe, Iredell – District 12 Director

Scott Mulwee, Burke – District 13 Director

Todd McNeill, Ashe – District 14 Director

Myron Yoder, Polk – District 15 Director

Rebecca McCall, Henderson – District 16 Director

Gayle Woody, Jackson – District 17 Director

Terry Renegar, Davie – District 18 Director

Viola Harris, Edgecombe – Risk Pools Board of Trustees’ Representative

Lance Metzler, Rockingham – County Managers’ Representative

Randy Thompson, Brunswick – Task Force Co-Chair

Kay Cashion, Guilford – Task Force Co-Chair

Dempsey Bond, Martin – At-Large Director

Ed Booth, Beaufort – At-Large Director

Kevin Austin, Yadkin – At-Large Director

Charles Evans, Cumberland – At-Large Director

Pauline Campbell, Robeson – At-Large Director

Brenda Howerton, Durham – At-Large Past President

Fred McClure, Davidson – At-Large Past President

Ronnie Beale, Macon – At-Large Past President

Kitty Barnes, Catawba – At-Large Past President

Darrell Frye, Randolph – At-Large Past President