Board of Directors

The NCACC Board of Directors and its Executive Committee make policy decisions to guide the NCACC and its staff through the year. The board consists of:

  • Five officers
  • 18 district directors
  • Elected members of the National Association of Counties (NACo) Board of Directors
  • Up to five at-large commissioners
  • Several ex-officio members who chair NCACC committees or hold other appointments
  • Up to five Past Presidents of the NCACC who are still active county commissioners

2023-24 Executive Committee

  • 2023-24 District Directors

    2023-24 District Directors

    NCACC has 18 multi-county districts represented by directors elected to two-year terms, who also serve on the NCACC Board of Directors. The odd-numbered districts elect their representatives during the NCACC Annual Conference, which is held every August, in odd-numbered years. The even-numbered districts elect their representatives during the NCACC Annual Conference in even-numbered years.

    DistrictCounties in DistrictDirector / County
    1Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Hyde, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell and WashingtonSissy Aydlett / Camden
    2Beaufort, Bertie, Hertford, Martin and PittDempsey Bond / Martin
    3Carteret, Craven, Duplin, Greene, Jones, Lenoir, Onslow, Pamlico and WayneBennie Heath / Greene
    4Brunswick, Columbus, New Hanover and PenderMike Forte / Brunswick
    5Bladen, Hoke, Robeson and ScotlandMichael Cogdell / Bladen
    6Cumberland, Harnett and SampsonGlenn Adams / Cumberland
    7Edgecombe, Halifax, Nash, Northampton and WilsonRob Boyette / Wilson
    8Franklin, Granville, Person, Vance and WarrenZelodis Jay / Granville
    9Chatham, Durham, Johnston, Lee, Orange and WakeDon Mial / Wake
    10Anson, Montgomery, Moore and RichmondJarvis T. Woodburn / Anson
    11Alamance, Caswell, Davidson, Guilford, Randolph and RockinghamChris Elliott / Davidson
    12Cabarrus, Gaston, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Rowan, Stanly and UnionGene Houpe / Iredell
    13Alexander, Burke, Caldwell and CatawbaBarbara Beatty / Catawba
    14Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Mitchell, Watauga, Wilkes and YanceyDennis Aldridge / Avery
    15Cleveland, McDowell, Polk and RutherfordMyron Yoder / Polk
    16Buncombe, Henderson, Madison and TransylvaniaLarry Chapman / Transylvania
    17Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Jackson, Macon and SwainTommy Long / Haywood
    18Davie, Forsyth, Stokes, Surry and YadkinRichard Linville / Forsyth
  • 2023-24 National Directors

    2023-24 National Directors

    Because North Carolina is one of the strongest state associations within the National Association of Counties (NACo), North Carolina typically has four and sometimes five seats on the NACo Board of Directors.

    Ed BoothBeaufortNACo Seat Number 1
    Gloria WhisenhuntForsythNACo Seat Number 2
  • 2023-24 Past Presidents

    2023-24 Past Presidents

    Beginning in 2013, the President may appoint up to five past presidents who are still active North Carolina County Commissioners to the Board of Directors for a one-year term.

    DirectorCountyTerm as President
    Frank WilliamsBrunswickNCACC President 2021-22
    Fred McClureDavidsonNCACC President 2016-17
    Brenda HowertonDurhamNCACC President 2017-18
    Ronnie SmithMartinNCACC President 2020-21
    Darrell FryeRandolphNCACC President 1990-91
  • 2023-24 At-Large Directors

    2023-24 At-Large Directors

    The president appoints commissioners to serve one-year terms as at-large directors. These commissioners are appointed to help achieve balance on the Board of Directors.

    At-Large DirectorScott MulweeBurke
    At-Large DirectorNida AllamDurham
    At-Large DirectorKay CashionGuilford
    At-Large DirectorPauline CampbellRobeson
    At-Large DirectorMark RichardsonRockingham
  • 2023-24 Committee Leadership & Representatives

    2023-24 Committee Leadership & Representatives

    The president appoints commissioners to serve as chairs of the association’s seven steering committees and can appoint commissioners to chair special task forces established to study a specific issue.

    Agriculture Steering Committee ChairJerol KivettSampson
    Environment Steering Committee ChairTodd McNeillAshe
    General Government Steering Committee ChairAnn KeyesWashington
    Health and Human Services Steering Committee ChairGeorge DunlapMecklenburg
    Justice and Public Safety Steering Committee ChairRandy ThompsonBrunswick
    Public Education Steering Committee ChairRandy BurnsBurke
    Tax and Finance Steering Committee ChairMarshall FairclothCumberland
    County Manager’s RepresentativeMary FurtadoCatawba
    CRG Board of Trustees RepresentativeViola HarrisEdgecombe
    Legislative Goals Committee Co-ChairKevin AustinYadkin
    Legislative Goals Committee Co-ChairKaren HowardChatham
    Task Force Co-ChairMike LaBroseCaldwell
    Task Force Co-ChairShinica ThomasWake
    Presidential Commitee Appointment – Dues / Fund BalanceDavid AllenRandolph