Board of Directors

The NCACC Board of Directors and its Executive Committee make policy decisions to guide the NCACC and its staff through the year. The board consists of:

  • Five officers
  • 18 district directors
  • Elected members of the National Association of Counties (NACo) Board of Directors
  • Up to five at-large commissioners
  • Several ex-officio members who chair NCACC committees or hold other appointments
  • Up to five Past Presidents of the NCACC who are still active county commissioners

2021-22 Executive Committee

  • 2021-22 District Directors

    2021-22 District Directors

    NCACC has 18 multi-county districts represented by directors elected to two-year terms, who also serve on the NCACC Board of Directors. The odd-numbered districts elect their representatives during the NCACC Annual Conference, which is held every August, in odd-numbered years. The even-numbered districts elect their representatives during the NCACC Annual Conference in even-numbered years.

    DistrictCounties in DistrictDirector / County
    1Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Hyde, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell and WashingtonBob Kirby / Chowan
    2Beaufort, Bertie, Hertford, Martin and PittJohn Horton / Hertford
    3Carteret, Craven, Duplin, Greene, Jones, Lenoir, Onslow, Pamlico and WayneTheron McCabe / Craven
    4Brunswick, Columbus, New Hanover and PenderMike Forte / Brunswick
    5Bladen, Hoke, Robeson and ScotlandDarrel Gibson / Scotland
    6Cumberland, Harnett and SampsonJerol Kivett / Sampson
    7Edgecombe, Halifax, Nash, Northampton and WilsonLinda Brewer/ Halifax
    8Franklin, Granville, Person, Vance and WarrenCedric Jones / Franklin
    9Chatham, Durham, Johnston, Lee, Orange and WakeKirk Smith / Lee
    10Anson, Montgomery, Moore and RichmondNick Picerno / Moore
    11Alamance, Caswell, Davidson, Guilford, Randolph and RockinghamDavid Allen / Randolph
    12Cabarrus, Gaston, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Rowan, Stanly and UnionGene Houpe / Iredell
    13Alexander, Burke, Caldwell and CatawbaScott Mulwee / Burke
    14Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Mitchell, Watauga, Wilkes and YanceyTodd McNeill / Ashe
    15Cleveland, McDowell, Polk and RutherfordMyron Yoder / Polk
    16Buncombe, Henderson, Madison and TransylvaniaRebecca McCall / Henderson
    17Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Jackson, Macon and SwainGayle Woody / Jackson
    18Davie, Forsyth, Stokes, Surry and YadkinTerry Renegar / Davie
  • 2021-22 National Directors

    2021-22 National Directors

    Because North Carolina is one of the strongest state associations within the National Association of Counties (NACo), North Carolina typically has four and sometimes five seats on the NACo Board of Directors.

    Tammy LeeBertieNACo Seat Number 1
    Gloria WhisenhuntForsythNACo Seat Number 2
  • 2021-22 Past Presidents

    2021-22 Past Presidents

    Beginning in 2013, the President may appoint up to five past presidents who are still active North Carolina County Commissioners to the Board of Directors for a one-year term.

    DirectorCountyTerm as President
    Kitty BarnesCatawbaNCACC President 2005-06
    Ronnie BealeMaconNCACC President 2014-15
    Darrell FryeRandolph NCACC President 1990-91
    Brenda HowertonDurhamNCACC President 2017-18
    Fred McClureDavidsonNCACC President 2016-17
  • 2021-22 At-Large Directors

    2021-22 At-Large Directors

    The president appoints commissioners to serve one-year terms as at-large directors. These commissioners are appointed to help achieve balance on the Board of Directors.

    At-large directorDempsey BondMartin
    At-large directorEd BoothBeaufort
    At-large directorKevin AustinYadkin
    At-large directorMichael CogdellBladen
    At-large directorPauline CampbellRobeson
  • 2021-22 Committee Leadership & Representatives

    2021-22 Committee Leadership & Representatives

    The president appoints commissioners to serve as chairs of the association’s seven steering committees and can appoint commissioners to chair special task forces established to study a specific issue.

    Agriculture Steering Committee ChairJames WestWake
    Environment Steering Committee ChairEddie SettleWilkes
    General Government Steering Committee ChairDeb HaysNew Hanover
    Health and Human Services Steering Committee ChairBrenda VaughnMcDowell
    Justice and Public Safety Steering Committee ChairGeorge DunlapMecklenburg
    Public Education Steering Committee ChairKaren HowardChatham
    Taxation and Finance Steering Committee ChairWallace NelsonPerquimans
    County Manager's RepresentativeLance MetzlerRockingham
    Legislative Goals Committee Co-ChairRenee PriceOrange
    Legislative Goals Committee Co-ChairMike LaBroseCaldwell
    Task Force Co-ChairRandy ThompsonBrunswick
    Task Force Co-ChairKay CashionGuilford
    RMP Board of Trustees RepresentativeViola HarrisEdgecombe