Newly elected NCACC President and Burke County Commissioner Johnnie Carswell announced his presidential initiative, “One More Thing,” during the NCACC 116th Annual Conference.

Wake County, N.C. – The NC Association of County Commissioners (NCACC) hosted its 116th Annual Conference, with the theme of “Momentum,” in Wake County August 24-26. During the conference, the NCACC elected its 2023-2024 executive officers, awarded individuals and partner organizations who positively impacted North Carolina counties, and hosted educational sessions and relationship-building events. 

Johnnie Carswell, Burke County Commissioner, was sworn in as the new president of the NCACC. President Carswell also unveiled his presidential initiative, “One More Thing,” focused on empowering North Carolina counties to put opioid settlement funds to work for their fullest potential and greatest impact.  

“My presidential initiative will support leaders, change-makers, helpers, and healers across our great state of North Carolina to maximize opioid settlement funds to build healthier and safer communities,” said President Carswell. “In partnership with the National Association of Counties (NACo), we will establish a planning committee to organize events for county leaders from all over the country to address the opioid overdose epidemic.”  

In addition to President Carswell, the NCACC’s executive officers for 2023-2024 include: 

  • Tare “T” Davis of Warren County, sworn in as President-Elect 
  • Wallace Nelson of Perquimans County, sworn in as First Vice President 
  • Allen Thomas of Hoke County, elected and sworn in as Second Vice President 
  • Tracey Johnson of Washington County, sworn in as Immediate Past President 

The NCACC recognized members and partners who aided counties and positively shaped the mission and vision of the organization. Award winners include: 

  • Vickie Adamson, Wake County Commissioner, and James Shores, Davidson County Commissioner, winners of the M.H. “Jack” Brock Outstanding County Commissioner Award 
  • Ray Jeffers, North Carolina Representative, inducted into the NCACC Hall of Fame 
  • Will Ray, the North Carolina Department of Public Safety Director of Emergency Management, winner of the Friends of the Counties Award 
  • Nate Denny, the North Carolina Department of Information Technology Deputy Secretary for Broadband & Digital Equity, winner of the Distinguished Service Award 

Attendees also had the opportunity to hear from guest speakers, Dr. Mike Haynie, Syracuse University’s Vice Chancellor for Strategic Initiatives and Innovation, who highlighted the importance of counties’ roles in veteran services and support; and LeVelle Moton, Head Coach of North Carolina Central University’s men’s basketball team, who shared insights about leadership, teamwork, and making a difference in your community. 


Editors: Print quality photos may be downloaded for use here. Photos should be credited as follows: Photo courtesy NCACC.