Friend of the Counties

The Friend of the Counties Award was created to encourage non-county persons and organizations to take significant actions that advance the interests of counties and the association. Any person or organization in North Carolina or the United States who or which is not directly associated with North Carolina county government or the NCACC is eligible to receive the award.

Selection shall be made each year by the NCACC president after consultation with the NCACC executive officers. The award shall be presented at the association’s annual conference each year.

Friend of the Counties Award Recipients

2005North Carolina Representatives Becky Carney (Mecklenburg) and Carolyn Justice (Pender)
2006North Carolina Representatives Bill Owens (Pasquotank) and Wilma Sherrill (Buncombe)
2007All members of the General Assembly
2008Ralph W Ketner
2009Local Government Federal Credit Union (LGFCU) President Maurice Smith
2010North Carolina Representative Angela Bryant (Nash)
2013State Sen. Jim Davis (Macon County)
2014Dr. Joe Zublena, Cooperative Extension Director
2015Rep. Chuck McGrady (Henderson County) and Rep. Howard J. Hunter III (Hertford County)
2016David Baker, North Carolina Department of Revenue
2017Michael Sprayberry, Director, NC Emergency Management
2018Robert Ingram, GlaxoSmithKline
 2019 Dr. Mike Yoder and Ms. Sarah Kotzian, North Carolina 4-H Youth Development
2021Hattie Gawande, NC DHHS
2022Greg Hobbs, Hobbs Properties; NC House Senior Appropriations Chairs: Representatives Dean Arp, Donny Lambeth, and Jason Saine; NC Senate Senior Appropriations Chairs: Senators Kathy Harrington, Ralph Hise, and Brent Jackson
2023Will Ray, the North Carolina Department of Public Safety Director of Emergency Management