Board of Trustees

The NCACC Governmental Risk Pools are governed by a 21-member Board of Trustees, which has general control and supervision of the Risk Pools. The Board meets quarterly, in March, June, September and December. 

Members are appointed by the President of the North Carolina Association of County Commissioners and serve 3-year terms beginning and ending at the December meeting of the Board. Current members include county commissioners, county managers and county risk managers chosen from the 67 current county Pool members. A Trustee who ceases to be an elected official or employee of a Pool member county, or whose county ceases to be a member of a Pool, shall be deemed to vacate their seat on the Board. The NCACC President will then nominate a replacement to complete the unexpired term of the vacating Trustee.  

The current members of the NCACC Joint Risk Management Board of Trustees are:

  • Viola Harris, Edgecombe County Commissioner
Vice Chair
  • Tommy Everett, Tyrrell County Commissioner
  • Wayne Abele, Burke County Commissioner
  • Wayne Branch, Duplin County Commissioner
  • Mike Caskey, Rowan County Commissioner
  • John Crumpton, Lee County Manager
  • Kitty Etheridge, Currituck County Commissioner
  • Michael Felts, Granville County Manager
  • Eileen Gardner, Brunswick County Risk Manager
  • Deron Geouque, Watauga County Manager
  • Bennie Heath, Greene County Commissioner
  • Tracey Johnson, Washington County Commissioner
  • Kevin King, Swain County Manager
  • Zee Lamb, Nash County Manager
  • Bill Lawhon, Stanly County Commissioner
  • Will Massie, Randolph County Assistant Manager
  • Jeff McNeely, Iredell County Commissioner
  • David Owen, Caswell County Commissioner
  • Kevin Patterson, Scotland County Manager
  • Ronnie Smith, Martin County Commissioner