Clerk of the Year

Julie Bennett holding 2018 Clerk of the Year award next to manWashington County Clerk Julie J. Bennett Named Clerk of the Year

Washington County Clerk to the Board Julie J. Bennett was presented the 2018 Howard Holly Outstanding Clerk of the Year Award on March 21, 2019, during the North Carolina Association of County Clerks Annual Conference. The Conference was hosted by Pitt County and held at the Greenville Convention Center in Greenville, North Carolina. Mrs. Bennett received the award during the banquet on Thursday evening.

Mrs. Bennett was appointed Clerk to the Washington County Board of County Commissioners in 2009.  In addition to numerous committees over the years, she has served as a member of the Association’s Board of Directors, and held the offices of Secretary, Treasurer, Vice-President, and President of the Association.  Mrs. Bennett has achieved the status of Certified Municipal Clerk through the International Institute of Municipal Clerks. She has also achieved the designation of North Carolina Certified County Clerk through the North Carolina Association of County Clerks. 

The Howard Holly Outstanding Clerk Award is presented in recognition of accomplishments superior to accepted standards and distinguished continuing contributions to county government in North Carolina.

Congratulations Julie!

Previous Clerk of the Year Awards

Year Name County Served as President
1981 Rachel Goins Stanly 1981-82
1982 Belinda Formyduval Onslow 1982-83
1983 Virginia Edwards Carteret N/A
1984 Judy Matthews Transylvania 1980-81
1985 Eleanor Creech Johnston N/A
1986 None Listed in History N/A N/A
1987 Lucie Harrell New Hanover 1986-87
1988 Norma Bodsford Guilford 1988-89
1989 Odessa Johnson Rockingham 1985-86
1990 Oleta Lopez Hoke  
1991 Jane Cole Forsyth 1983-84
1992 Alice Fortner Iredell 1979-80
1993 Bobbie Wilson Granville 1989-90
1994 Charles Mashburn Alexander 1991-92
1995 Barbara Moore Union 1994-95
1996 Ida Smith Columbus 1992-93
1997 Marsha Fogle Cumberland 1987-88
1998 Betty Blankenship Caldwell 1997-98
1999 Sandra Catherwood Vance 1996-97
2000 Wanda Smith Caldwell 1997-98
2001 Joyce Ennis Johnston 2000-01
2002 Lois Askew Washington 1993-94
2003 Pam Robertson Rockingham 2002-03
2004 Susan Banks Pitt 1998-99
2005 Kay Blanchard Harnett 2004-05
2006 Kathy Hughes Buncombe 2005-06
2007 Elizabeth "Libby" Corn Henderson 2006-07
2008 Brenda Hunter Davie 2007-08
2009 Gwen Bryan Craven 2003-04
2010 Marcia Wilson Wayne N/A
2011 Jeanette Deese Carteret 2010-11
2012 Debby Core Brunswick 2011-12
2013 Kathy Greene Caldwell 2009-10
2014 Carolyn Barger Rowan 2013-14
2015 Gaynell Lee Lee N/A
2016 Kristen King Franklin 2014-15
2017 Paula Woodard Johnston 2015-16