Forsyth County Commissioner Attends Presidential Signing Ceremony

Released: February 28, 2017
Today, Gloria Whisenhunt, Forsyth County Commissioner and North Carolina Association of County Commissioners Board member joined President Trump and county leaders from across the country for an executive order signing ceremony at the Oval Office.  The executive order requires federal agencies to review and reconsider the “Waters of the U.S.” (WOTUS) rule.  The WOTUS rule would have expanded federal jurisdiction over additional waterways, imposing new regulatory requirements under the Clean Water Act.  

NC counties supported efforts led by the National Association of Counties (NACo) calling for the withdraw and rewrite of the WOTUS rule due to concerns about the impact on county-owned and maintained roadside ditches, bridges, flood control channels, drainage conveyances and wastewater and stormwater systems.  Counties play a significant role in implementing and enforcing federal water regulations and have urged for a more inclusive process in drafting and finalizing the rule. 

 “We’re thrilled our fellow commissioner, Gloria Whisenhunt, was present for this important signing,” said NCACC President and Davidson County Commissioner Fred McClure.  “Today’s executive order is consistent with NCACC’s federal legislative goal to roll back the expansion of federal control under the Clean Water Act.  I’m encouraged that the new path forward will help address concerns raised by local communities.”

For more information on the NCACC’s federal legislative goals, go to
  1. Guilford County’s “Thank a Vet” Program Replicated in Macon and Other Counties

    In 2015, the Guilford County Register of Deeds Office was the first of about 20 counties in North Carolina to implement a new program called “Thank a Vet,” Read on...
  2. Transylvania County Plans Events for Rare Solar Eclipse

    Transylvania County and Pisgah Astronomical Research Institute are working with several organizations to plan special events that will enable citizens and visitors to experience the upcoming solar eclipse in a memorable, safe and educational manner. Read on...
  3. Randolph County Manager Hal Johnson Named Citizen of the Year

    NCACC congratulates Randolph County Manager, Hal Johnson, for receiving the Citizen of the Year Award Read on...
View All