NCACC Hall of Fame


The North Carolina Association of County Commissioners (NCACC) Hall of Fame inducted its first class in 2011. Each year, the NCACC's Executive Committee will bring forth new honorees to include in the Hall of Fame.

To be eligible, individuals must have been active within the NCACC, including service as a member of the Board of Directors. Individuals must also have made significant contributions to county government at either the state or national levels, such as a leadership role with the National Association of Counties (NACo) or service in a higher office.

NCACC Hall of Fame Members

Year Inducted Hall of Fame Member
2016  Kitty Barnes, Catawba County Commissioner, NCACC Past President
Kenneth Edge, Cumberland County, NCACC Past President
Noah Woods, Robeson County Commissioner, NCACC Past President
2015 Darrell Frye, Randolph County Commissioner and Past NCACC President
2014 Robert Hester, Bladen County Commissioner, NCACC 2nd VP and NCACC Field Representative
2013 Carson Bain, Guilford County Commissioner and NACo Fourth Vice President

DuPont L. Davis, Hertford County Commissioner and past NCACC President
2012 Cass Ballenger, former N.C. House and Senate member and 9-term U.S. Congressman

Terry Garrison, Vance County Commissioner and NACo committee leader

Carolyn Justice, former Pender County Commissioner and North Carolina Representative (5 terms)
2011 C.E. Foy, former Craven County Commissioner

Jim Martin, former Mecklenburg County Commissioner, U.S. Representative and North Carolina Governor

Richard Conder, former Richmond County Commissioner and North Carolina Senator

Moses Carey, former Orange County Commissioner and current Secretary of Administration

Bill Owens, former Pasquotank County Commissioner and current North Carolina Representative

Betty Lou Ward, Wake County Commissioner

Ron Aycock, Former NCACC Executive Director

2011 Recipients
North Carolina's 2 NACo presidents - Wake County's Betty Lou Ward and Richmond County's Richard Conder - were among 7 inductees to the Hall of Fame. (Photo by Jason King)